You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 12, 2008.

I got a voicemail while I was at work yesterday from one of my best friends and former roommate.  “I know it’s not your favorite, but we’re getting a bunch of people together to go bowling.”  Oh God, I thought to myself.  I. Hate. Bowling.  But L (my absolutely amazing boyfriend, who you will definitely hear more about) and I didn’t really have any other plans – so why not?  I would suck it up and go.  Plus, they promised me there would be beer to distract me.

 It’s not that I hate the actual game of bowling, but rather the idea that I am wearing a pair of shoes that countless other sweaty, smelly and possibly fungus-y feet have been in.  Eleven of us met at Dave and Busters for dinner first and then bowling… and beer.  But the wonderful world of NASCAR had rented out all of the bowling lanes and even all of the billiards.  The joys of living in NASCAR country.  Especially when you’re not a fan of the sport.

Sigh.  Where were we going to go?  The other “nice” bowling alley was kind of far, especially for L and I who live 40 minutes away from everyone else.  There’s the one in the ghetto, but well, it’s in the ghetto.  K pulls out her Blackberry to search for another.  Low and behold, there’s one not too far.  Near my office.  So we all go.  Walk in.  Ten lanes.  You score your game yourself (umm, people actually know how to do that?).  And worst of all… no beer.  Walk out.

To the ghetto it is.  Safety in numbers, right?  We have boys with us, that makes it…safe?  Walk in.  Lots of bowling lanes – check.  Computers that score for you – check.  Beer – CHECK!  We get shoes, we get balls, we get our lanes and most importantly -we get the beer. 🙂  Although, it did take at least 15 minutes to get three $10 pitchers (um, they’re only $5 at Picasso’s, our favorite hang out, on Friday.  Come on bowling people, get with the program) – and we were the only ones in line. 

Then it happens.  My toes start to tingle.  Surely it is the fungus spores going through my socks and attacking my poor feet.  Other people’s toes are tingling too.  “Oh, don’t make fun of me,” I whine.  But they’re serious.  I keep telling myself that it’s the excessive amount of Lysol that they sprayed to kill the fungus.  It will be OK.  I drink my beer.  It’s flat.  Sigh, such a disappointment. 

We bowl.  I do terribly, but that’s no surprise.  Game 1 – I broke 50!  Haha.  Now, that’s accomplishment for me. 🙂  And then there is game 2.  I got a turkey – 3 strikes in a row!  Woohoo! 

It had been a long day for everyone and we were tired, so we called it a night.

And as I was cuddling next to L before we fell asleep, I thought even with the flat beer, the tingly toes and the driving in circles trying to make our plans work out – it was a great night with friends and this amazing guy.  I love those nights.

Visit my Etsy shop!

www.overapapermoon.etsy.com Visit my Etsy shop for great stationary items. Don't see what you're looking for? Just ask and I'll do my best to create it for you.
January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Email Me:

danceintherain19 @ hotmail . com