Today was a big day at work.  A very big day. 

Throughout my entire career (all 6 years of it), I’ve never been super happy with my work.  Never really felt satisfied.  Sure, here and there I had some good moments, but at my new job, I feel good most of the time.  Such a great improvement.  It probably has something to do with the fact that I’m working in-house now, rather than for an agency.  After my first job, I always thought that would be the route I wanted to take, but I got stuck in another agency because it was a good opportunity (or so I thought) at the time.

Anyway, I’m working on one specific project now.  Back in November, we started pitching some major national consumer magazines.  Southern Living, Woman’s Day, Better Homes & Gardens, etc.  If you’re not familiar, magazines, especially large magazines like these, work on very long lead times.  Anywhere from 6 months to a year.  So all this work we were doing was in the hopes that they would be interested in the story for an April or May issue, because it’s the best timing for the project. 

We’ve been calling and emailing and been getting no where.  The story is a perfect item for the “news brief” sections that a lot of these magazines have.  (This is hard to explain without telling you about the project.  Although I’m not very anonymous on here, I don’t want to reveal my employer)

We’re not asking for a lot.  I want them to list one thing fr0m our project and I’d be happy with them just crediting us in the caption – though if they wanted to include a blurb about our work, that would be ideal.

This week we started a final push.  I made several calls today, and everyone thinks the project is interesting, but they only want to feature the ultimate outcome of our project, which is about 5 years out, and don’t feel like they can fit the current activities anywhere.

My colleagues has had the same luck, and our boss is so surprised (as we all are) that no one has bitten.

I picked up the phone and called another editor, expecting to get turned down or another voicemail.  When she picked up, I introduced myself and where I was from and gave my brief intro on the project – like I always do.  And then she said “I’m sorry, can I stop you?” – like so many do.  Damnit.

“I believe we’re planning on including this in the May issue.  Check with XX, who coordinates that section.”

I’m sorry, WHAT?!

She gave me the other editors contact info and I thanked her.  I made the next call to another nice woman who confirmed that, yes, our project would be included in the May issue (barring any editorial cuts). 

HELL F-ING YEAH!!!!!!!!!

Not only that, they are including the item we want them to include, a photo AND a blurb about the project.  This could not have been more perfect!

The magazine?  Family Circle.  Circulation? 3.8 million.  YES!

I got off the phone and immediately went to tell my boss, who let out a loud “WAHOO!” while waving her arms in the air. 

Though it will look small in print, this is by far one of the biggest hits I’ve had.

Sure, I’ve had items in the NY Post, NY Daily News and some major trade publications.  But from a circulation standpoint – this is my biggest.  And the fact that my boss was actually excited, that’s just the icing on the cake.  Not that she wouldn’t be, but I’ve worked for people who would have just brushed it off – even though we haven’t had any luck up until now.

She’s so excited, in fact, that after I left her office, she sent an email to our team saying we need to go out to lunch next week to celebrate!  So fun.

This was a huge achievement and it makes me feel good. 

Oh, and you better believe that I’m going to buy like 6 gazillion copies of the magazine when it comes out – and it will have a spot right up front in my portfolio.

