I want to get back in to blogging.  And when I read Jess’ post, I thought this would be a good way to get back in the flow.

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?
Got Married!  Travelled out of the country with L.  Got a job that I like (so far), ran a 10k

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I’m not sure if I made any actual resolutions.  I know I wanted to lose weight for the wedding – and L and I did pretty good.  In conjunction with training for the Cooper River Bridge Run, I lost about 20lb from January – April.  I wanted to keep losing, but I just got off track and busy wedding planning and lazy and ended up gaining it all back.  I wasn’t nearly as skinny or in shape as I wanted to be for the wedding, but in the end, I’m still happy with the way I looked.  I also had the goal of running the entire CRBR and I did it!
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Not anyone super close, but a couple of friends and aquaintances had babies.  And now one of my very good friends is pregnant with twins!  She is the first of my close friends to get pregnant.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My grandmother passed away in April.  To be quite honest, it was kind of time.  She wasn’t in pain, but she wasn’t really aware of her surroundings at all and hasn’t been able to speak for quite some time.  She basically just laid in bed in a nursing home.  She didn’t even always know when people were there visiting her.

5. What countries did you visit?
Cabo, Mexico for LM’s 30th bday and L and I went on an absolutely AMAZING honeymoon to St. Lucia

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
A more stable bank account (having a job and not relying on unemployment should help) and a new house.  L and I have our sites on one and ours is currently for sale.  So fingers crossed it all works out.
7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
September 5!  The day I married my very best friend!!!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Becoming a wife – officially becoming a family. 

9. What was your biggest failure?
This is a tough one… I’m not sure I would categorize it as a failure, but I need to work on my approach to some things and realizing I can’t always get my way.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Ugh, I dropped a huge glass vase that we used for the centerpiece on our head table at the wedding while I was cleaining it.  It shattered and cut a deep 3″ gash in my foot 3 weeks before the wedding.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have inusrance at the time (Cobra was just getting too expensive and when I stopped paying it, I only had a month till I was covered under L’s and didn’t think it was a big deal) so the 6 stitches I got ended up costing us about $2000!  The dr. told me I would be fine by the wedding and I was for the most part, but my foot was still very swollen and I could only wear my pretty pink shoes for the ceremony.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Hmm… not that it was one thing that we bought – but our wedding was definitely a major expense, but so worth it.  We ended up firing our band 2 weeks before the big day and hired a new one – in the process we lost about $500, but it was one of the best decisions we made.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Although we had disagreements at times, L did a pretty good job working at his full-time job, part-time job and helping to plan the wedding.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Some of my family who didn’t come to our wedding for selfish reasons.  And well, I’ll say it, L’s mom.  She did quite a few things that we specifically asked her not to do and some of it really hurt my feelings.  IE – we told her one thing she could help us decorate for the wedding.  She did it and it looked very nice.  She then took it upon herself to decorate our guest book table with a collage of photos.  It would have been nice if I were in the pictures.  Instead there were more than 15 pictures on the table and I was in 1.  Yup.  Why would you do something like that?

14. Where did most of your money go?
Our wedding.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Hmmm, I’m not sure.  😉 😉 😉  OUR WEDDING obviously!

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?
“You are the best thing” by Ray LaMontagne – it was our first dance — or “Tonight’s gonna be a good night” (or whatever the actual name of that song is) by the Black Eye Peas
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
b) thinner or fatter?
c) richer or poorer?
a) Definitely Happier
b) After some yo-yoing – about the same or a few pounds heavier 😦
c) I wouldn’t say we’re “richer” but we’re definitely better off now that I have a full-time job again.  We still have some big expenses (paying off that hospital bill and repaying some money to savings that we borrowed), but it’s not quite as bad as it was last year.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Blogging, time management when it comes to wedding stuff – my plans of doing nothing the week before the wedding failed big time and there was some important stuff that didn’t get done as thoroughly as I had hoped.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Procrastinating.  Worrying about little things.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
L and I got to not only spend our first married Christmas together, but we got to spend our first Christmas ever together.  As luck would have it, he got all the holidays off this year (just the way the schedule fell).  We drove up to CT on Dec. 23 and spent Christmas with my family until Dec. 28.  It was so wonderful.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?
I fall in love with that boy over and over again every day of my life.  We both have our faults and some things we need to work on, but I don’t think there is anyone out there more perfect for me.  Seriously.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
Hmm… I watched a lot of Gilmore Girls reruns 🙂  But I guess Army Wives, Law & Order SVU, Grey’s Anatamy and Parenthood would top my list

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Our wedding photographer.  Full report coming on that soon. 

24. What was the best book you read?
I didn’t read too many books, but I did finally read Shopaholic and Baby when I realized that I never had when Mini Shopaholic came out. 

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Cee Lo Green. There, I said it. And yes, this is on the basis of his one profane song that I LOVE SO VERY MUCH. — I have to agree with Jess on this one.  I love that song!

26. What did you want and get?
I wanted to have a perfect wedding day with my best friend – and I did!  There were some minor things that went wrong and if I could go back and do it all over again, I would never hire our photographer – but everything else was so, so perfect!

27. What did you want and not get?
I was hoping to have sold our house already, but if it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be so we’ll see where it goes from here.  Just send happy house selling thoughts our way.  Our goal is to sell it by February to make some other things work out – we know that’s a pretty ambitious goal!

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
I don’t really remember seeing many movies this year…

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 27 years old.  L and I went to a training group run for the CRBR in the morning, then he took me to a lovely Italian dinner and we met friends out for drinks that night – it was a lot of fun!

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Marrying L made it pretty freakin’ perfect.  Selling the house would have been great though.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
I favored big white dresses 😉  Umm, casual and comfortable, like usual.  This year stuck out because there was a lack of “business casual” in my life.

32. What kept you sane?
L and our puppies

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I have no idea

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
The whole debacle with unemployment.

35. Who did you miss?
I miss living closer to my mom.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
I think becoming closer to some of my friends is the equivalent to this.  Also, though I probably won’t work with them again, the band we ended up hiring was fabulous to work with and were incredible and helping us get everything together in such a short amount of time.  It made up for the previous band we had hired and their poor customer service.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.
Things will work out the way they need to work out.  Don’t depend on other people’s research for something that is important to you.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I’ll take a few lines from our first dance…
“Baby, we’ve come a long way, baby/You know, I hope and I pray, that you believe me/When I say this love will never fade away/You are the best thing/You are the best thing/You are the best thing that ever happened to me”

