I’m a few days late with this Christmas recap and was absent all of last week – but it’s the holidays and it’s always a crazy time.  Plus, I was busy buying my wedding dress!

I still can’t believe Christmas is over.  Or Thanksgiving either.  Also.  Is tonight really New Year’s Eve?  Wow.  This year has gone by so quickly.  I wasn’t really ready for Christmas this year.  Probably because the whole holiday season snuck up on me so quickly.  I felt like I wasn’t even really in the Christmas spirit.  I did half of my Christmas shopping in July, but left the other half for the week before the holiday.  I knew what I was getting everyone, it was  just the actual act of going to purchase it that I was slow about.  And in the end, everyone seemed to love what we gave them.

And I certainly loved what I got!  L and I exchange our gifts a few days after Christmas since he has worked the last two we’ve been together.  So my lovely gifts started on Christmas eve from my parents.  My mom bought me a Gocco over the summer that was supposed to be for Christmas – we just snatched it when I found one for a good price.  And I was perfectly happy with just getting my usual small stocking stuffers because of that.  But she kepts telling me when we arrived earlier in the week that she only had one gift for me and that was it.  I really had no idea what it was.  Not a clue or a hint or a sneaking suspicion. 

As we sat by the tree on Christmas Eve after dinner with my aunt and cousins, I tore the wrapping paper to reveal a navy blue box.  It wasn’t until I ripped it a little further and saw the logo on the box that I knew what it was.

This was the logo I saw:

And I gasped and looked at my mom because I knew that this box contained two items that I have been coveting since I was about 12 years old.

These:


Source

This picture does them absolutely no justice.  I’ve been drooling over these ever since the first time I saw them in a Swarovski store and exclaimed that I would have those for my wedding one day.  I knew they were expensvie, but seriously, I have wanted these for like 14 years.  After we got engaged, I of course looked them up.  And when I saw the price tag, I knew it was going to take a lot of saving to get them. 

There are a lot of little details I am willing to forgo for our wedding to save money.  But let me tell you.  This was NEVER one of them.  I didn’t know how, but I was going to buy these at some point before our wedding.  I had searched ebay and they were always there.  Not for as cheap as I would hope, but definintely a lot less than full retail price. 

Just before Christmas I saw a pair go up for auction for $.99.  I put it in my ‘watch’ folder on ebay, knowing that these babies would go for much, MUCH more than $1 – and then I forgot about them.  When I got an email reminding me that the auction was ending soon, I saw a price tag of over $300.  I deleted it and moved on with my day, knowing I still had months to figure out this dilema.

My mom had played the ebay game as well and got them for a much better price.  And the fact that I couldn’t stop staring at them made her feel really good, I think.  I never, in a million years, would have guessed that that was what was inside the box.  I can’t wait to use them on our wedding day.  Would it be inappropriate to drink Crystal Lite out of them until then? haha.  We’re going to have to invest in some sort of hutch so these can be prominently (yet safely) displayed!

My pictures do them no justice, either, but at least you can sort of see the loose crystal filled stems.  And the beautifully cut base.

 

But that wasn’t all.  And there were more wedding-related Christmas gifts to come.  My cousin and his wife bought us a US Airways gift card that we’ll hopefully be able to put toward our honeymoon travel.

And then there was L’s gift.  My mom and I drove back on Sunday and L and I opened gifts Monday morning when he got home from work.  There were two moderately sized boxes under the tree, but I didn’t know what they were.  We had set a $50 limit this year and I couldn’t think of any of the things I asked for that would come in boxes that size.  He did mention to me that he may have exceede the limit though (I couldn’t be totally mad though because my original gift for him was over the limit – another story for that one). 

I told him to open his first.  I got him 4 shirts from Gap that he wanted (all on sale – love it!) and another tshirt from a restaurant in CT that we love (and have several other tshirts from).  Then I got him one of those Nike+ things for his ipod.  The one where the chip goes in your shoe and syncs with your ipod when you run.  He’s been wanting it and it seems pretty cool.  I might need one for myself.

Then it was my turn.  He handed my one box and told me to open if first.  I unwrapped it and saw a Zappos box.  My first thoughts were that he bought me the shoes I wanted for the wedding.  But those were so expensive.  I thought maybe he bought me a similar pair I found after those.

But when I opened the box, I found a pair of pink shoes from my own collection and another shoe that I had broken the heel off of last year.  Umm, what the crap?

He handed me the other box and I ripped the paper tentatively, wondering if it was going to be another bogus present.  Underneath I found a green shoe box.  Green as in Kate Spade green.  Yes, indeed.  He bought me the shoes!!!  I had to be careful not to get droplets of drool on them as I turned them over in my hands, not believing they were mine.  I kept telling him I was so mad at him for breaking our limit, but my mom said it was hard to believe because of the smile plastered on my face.

I pulled off my socks and rolled up my jeans as I went to slip them on.  I was a little nervous though.  I used to wear a 9 1/2 or 10.  But the last few years it’s been more of a 10 or 10 1/2.  The largest size on Zappos was a 10 and I figured that the shoes might run smaller like most designer anything does.  Plus, when I was searching the internet the week before looking for them on ebay or other potentially discounted places, I saw someone say that they would order a half size larger.

I proceeded with caution and you know what happened?  They fit absolutely perfectly!  They just slid right on.  There was no shoving my foot in.  No getting my fingers caugh in the heel trying to stretch the shoe around my foot.  I stood up and walked around and not only did they fit, but they were comfortable! 3.25″ heels were comfortable.  No wonder they’re so expensive.  I put them on every now and then, but each time they go back in the box when I’m done.  I absolutely can’t wait to wear these on my wedding day and I think they will go perfectly with my dress!

This was the best Christmas ever! 🙂

Oh, and you know I’ve taken pictures of these too, right?  These are my own shoe shots and ring shots! 😉

Now if only I could somehow track down 5 pairs of the Nine West Jojus shoes in green for my bridesmaids!  Too bad they’re discontinued. 

