I could not be more excited for the weekend.  Why?  Well, there’s the whole not having to go to work thing, which, as we all know, is number one on my list.  Oh, the Steeplechase!  Yes, that’s right.  It’s finally here and I can not wait!  Tomorrow’s forecast – 85 and sunny.  L is afraid it’s going to be too hot.  Me on the other hand?  Oh, I’m thinking of how I’ll get some color on my shoulders! 🙂

A little disappointed that my work friend had to back out at the last minute.  Her husband’s uncle had a stroke the other night and is not doing well.  She had tears in her eyes when she told.  Tears that she couldn’t go.  Not for the uncle (although, she does feel bad about that too 🙂 ). 

********

The last couple of nights we (I) have been pulling any remaining painting tape off of the walls and touching up some spots on the ceilings.  The only tape that was really left was at the peak of the ceiling which required moving the entertainment center and getting out the ladder.  It looks so great.  My lines are perfectly straight if I do say so  myself.  We just have one wall that needs to be painted.  We held off because L wanted to cut an opening in to create a more “flowy” feeling between the kitchen.  But now he’s undecided.  So it’s getting painted anyway.  Soon.  Maybe Sunday.  Depending on how hungover I am.

And as selfish as it may sound, I’m glad to know that he recognizes that I did 90% of the work on this project. 

Next up we’re painting the bedroom.  He doesn’t know it yet, but I’m hoping we can maybe do it next weekend.  Just knock it out and get it done.  We had talked about maybe going to the  beach, but haven’t said anything since.  Plus those fires are pretty damn close to where we go.

********

This little nugget of information we received last night kind of annoyed me.  As I mentioned, L’s sister is graduating from college the second weekend in May and we are going to her graduation (as it turns out, I apparently haven’t officially been invited, but everything his mom has said leads him to believe that I am invited.  I told him I would like for him to confirm.  Because I have issues).

Her college is not far from his parent’s house.  We were going to go up Saturday evening or Sunday morning, go to the graduation and spend time with the family (I’m thinking lunch or dinner will be involved).

Last night his mom calls and tells us not to bring the puppies when we come

Umm, why?! 

She thinks that it will just be “too crazy” if they are there.  Between their dog (cocker spaniel), his sister’s dog (pomaranian) and his aunt’s dog (some teeny, tiny rescue dog), it’s just not a good idea.  Plus we won’t be around the house that much.

I still don’t understand.  Whenever we bring them, both of their crates go in L’s bedroom and if we are not home, the bedroom door is closed.  They barely bark and are pretty much not a problem. 

L tells her that we’ll have to try and make some other arrangements if we can’t bring them.  She says we should board them with our trainer.  Well, he doesn’t board dogs anymore.  And if we take them to the new place we’re boarding them, we’ll have to drop them off on Saturday (even if we don’t go till Sunday bc they have certain pick up/drop off times) and likely won’t be able to pick them up until Monday morning since we’ll probably get back late. 

That will cost anywhere between $60 and $120 depending on what time we drop them off.  We don’t have that kind of extra money to just throw around.

I feel bad asking our one friend who watches them sometimes because he has helped us out sooo much recently.  Plus, this is Mother’s Day weekend.  Also, his wife is pregnant and due like the next day.

I just don’t understand why it’s our dogs that have to get shafted.  And what she has against them anyway.  She is so wishy-washy.  About everything.  She talks about how we should never have gotten the dogs to start with, how dogs (in general) are a pain in the butt, cost a lot of money and ruin things (she does not know about the mattress and never will as far as I’m concerned).  But at the same time when they are there and Shep is walking around whining for absolutely no reason and we make fun of him, she’s like “oh, he’s just trying to talk, how sweet.”  And she takes them for walks if we’re out even when we tell her they’ll be fine. 

I just don’t get it.

Meanwhile, my parents had no problem when I told them we’ll be coming to CT in August for my friend’s wedding and will be dropping the puppies off with them for like 3 days while we’re at the wedding which is a couple hours away.

Plus, how could you not love these two?

beach-3-27-09-3-29-09-1201

********

But, I’m not going to think about that right now.  I am way too excited for a wonderful weekend.  Now if only I can convince L to call in sick on Sunday! 😉

