For the past many, many months, it seems as though the days keep flying by and I’m continually tearing an old month off of my calendar.  Things that happened long ago feel like they just happened last week.

I have a very small desk calendar – one of those different companies hand out with their logo on it – that I keep next to my phone and computer here at work.  Each morning, I cross the previous day off.  It’s one of those things that helps me get through the week.  And countdown to whatever I may be looking forward to in the coming weeks or months.

Just last week, as I was counting down till L and I left for the beach, I crossed another day off.  “Wow, tomorrow is February 27,” I thought to myself.  And then proceeded to comment outloud over the cubewall to my neighbor.  Where did the month go?  Wasn’t the Super Bowl just on?

And now it’s March.  Over the past several weeks, stores have begun to stock up with their spring gear.  Shorts and tshirts.  Bathing suits and sunglasses.  Patio furniture and brightly colored plates.  I love this time of year.  It also helps that this weekend is supposed to be 77 and sunny.  A nice change from the four inches of snow we had on Monday.

It’s slowly sinking in that the season is already beginning to change.  Last night was the kicker, though.  L and I were watching the news when the anchor reminded everyone that “Daylight savings time begins at 2 a.m. on Sunday, don’t forget to change your clocks.”

Daylight what?! 

How could it possibly be daylight savings time already?  I have noticed how it is still light out when I get home from work, which I love.  I hate when it is dark out already.  Especially when L is working and I have to come home to a dark house by myself.  Strangely, but nicely, it seemed as though there weren’t many of those days.  I’ve actually made several comments about it still being light, even at almost 6:30 the other day.  But it just never dawned on me that we would be changing the clocks again soon.

I must confess that I don’t normally know when we actually push the clocks forward.  It’s normally times like this when I hear it on the news or someone mentions it that it reminds me.  I always remember in the fall, maybe it’s that extra hour of sleep I’ll get.  But even so, I never would have guessed it was this early.

I am looking forward to it though.  Days that seem longer.  Better opportunities to take the puppies for walks after work and not be looking over my shoulder any time I hear a noise.  A good chance that in a couple of months we’ll even be able to make it to the dog park during the week before it shuts at dusk.

I’ve had enough of this winter.  I’m looking forward to cute sundresses and hopefully some trips to the beach.  When we can actually go swimming. 🙂

I’m looking forward to taking the puppies to the park tomorrow.  L is working, but we’ll go anyway.  And we’re taking them to a new park to walk on some trails on Sunday.  It should be lovely.  I would love to have dinner on a patio somewhere, but we’ll be heading to another hockey game Sunday afternoon.  Two games to be precise.  The first is the same minor league team we saw a few weeks ago.  The second is the Heroe’s Game – the fire department vs. the police department.  I think it should be fun.

Happy Friday!  Hope everyone has a lovely weekend!