You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 19, 2009.

I heard back about the position I’ve been interviewing for.  They want me to come to talk further.  I have no idea what we could possibly talk about.  I’m pretty sure we covered it all in the 5 hours I’ve interviewed with them already.  Literally.

The email assured me that I am a finalist, but that they have a very strong applicant pool.  He (the guy I’d be working with and who I’ve been communicating with) has some urgency to get this all taken care of and would like for me to come in this week.  Seriously?  I can’t just keep taking time off of work for this.  But conveniently, I have Friday off because of my birthday.

I really have no desire to go to a job interview on my birthday.  My plans were to sleep in and lay with L all morning.  Followed by my first trip to this place for lunch (I’ve been dying to go there for many years.  It’s even been listed as some of the best fried chicken in the country by the Food Network) and then relaxing the rest of the day before we go out later that night.

But, I guess it’s lucky that I already had the time off and that he has availability that morning.  He said that he would like to meet off campus for about an hour.  Perhaps at a bagel shop.  I emailed his assistant letting her know that the only time I could meet was Friday morning (I wanted to get it over with and not have to think about it all day).

And what time does she respond with? 

7:15 AM.

What the f-u-c-k?

That means that I have to leave the house by 6:30 since I’m not sure how traffic will be.

You know what else that means?  That I have to get up by 5:45 at the latest.  On my birthday.  That I have off from work.  Ugh.

Also, I have to be there at 7:15?  Did I mention that I don’t normally leave the house for work on a daily basis until 7:35?

To top it all off, I still don’t know what the salary is.  I thought about emailing him back and asking if he could give me a better idea of what it was around, but my mom said that I shouldn’t do that.  Especially over email.

Maybe it’s a sign.  A good sign.  That this is happening on my birthday and that I didn’t have to worry about trying to take more time off of work.

Sigh.  I wish they would just make the decision.  If it lasts an hour like he said, that will mean I will have interviewed with them for 6 HOURS.  This is for an assistant’s position, not the president of the university!

I honestly don’t know what else I can talk about.  All of my questions (except salary) have been answered.  And I’m pretty sure we thoroughly covered my background.  Unless he wants to ask me what I like to do in my spare time, which someone there already asked me last time.

Wish me luck.  You might want to do it tonight though, because you might not be up that early tomorrow. 😉

Visit my Etsy shop!

www.overapapermoon.etsy.com Visit my Etsy shop for great stationary items. Don't see what you're looking for? Just ask and I'll do my best to create it for you.
February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Email Me:

danceintherain19 @ hotmail . com