Tomorrow, December 13th, 2008, is Shep and Dixie’s first birthday.  Holy cow, I can’t believe they are a year old already!

In one way, it seems like just yesterday that L and I were still living in separate homes, but talking about how much we each wanted a dog.  And that, whenever the time did come that he would ask me to move in, we would be getting a dog the next day. 🙂 

In another way, it feels like we’ve had these two little rascals forever.

Once the decision was made for me to move in with L, I don’t think I had even gotten my stuff int he door yet before we started looking at breeders.  Then, once Christmas passed, the search was on hard core.

There were so many.  Some wouldn’t have puppies available for months, some were just too expensive, some would be ready right before we were planning on going on vacation. 

Then, there was one.  It was going to work out.  But once the puppies were born, there were only yellow ones and we wanted a black one.

But wait!  She had a breeder friend who had puppies available and gave me the contact information.  They had black and yellow.  And the price was the best yet. 

We put our name down for one black male and drive the 8 hours to southern Georgia to pick him up as soon as he was ready to go home.  The more we talked about it and looked at the pictures she sent us, the more I fell in love with them.

Then when I was talking to my mom one day, she jokingly said we should get two.  She should know better.  You don’t joke with me about stuff like that.  Immediately, it was the best idea I’ve heard.  I told L, and he kind of liked it.  But we didn’t make a decision until he made me go through and figure out the cost difference (long term) between one and two. 

After much work, I decided we could do it.  But he couldn’t have two black dogs because he said he would get them confused.  So I emailed the lady back and asked to put us down for a yellow female as well.

I can’t imagine what it would be like with only one of them.  They are so cute when they play together – and so entertaining too.  And they keep me company when L is gone.

Happy 1st Birthday, Shep and Dixie!!

getattachment
Here they are with all their brothers and sisters – around 4 weeks old

shep-and-dixie-058
One of their first days home with us

me-lee-and-puppies1
Us with our puppies – 10/2008

december-2008-026
One year later
(please excuse the plant growing out of the back of my head)

