I’ve told you that in addition to being a career firefighter, L also volunteers for the department in the town we live in.

Which means that he has this attached to or near him 98 percent of the time.

His pager.

This has been a source of some arguments and disagreements over the past year and a half.  My need for it to just be turned off.  For just a couple of hours.  Once a week.  So I don’t have to think about it going off and disrupting something we may be doing, or even just hanging out spending time together watching tv or a movie at home.

But in anycase, because it is a part of his life.  It is inherently a part of mine.  A part of my life whether it is 2pm or 2am.

Normally when it goes off in the middle of the night, it doesn’t bother me all that much.  I hear it and wake up, but it’s not super disruptive.  It must be my ability to sleep through almost anything. 

I must admit that every now and then it scares the living crap out of me.  Especially at night.  When it’s dark.  And I am sound alseep.  And the room is peacefully quiet.

And all of a sudden, you hear this:

And then. After all that noise.  And static. And noise.  It talks. And then. More static.
(if you’re really interested, you can also go here and click on the picture of the pager to hear an example that is clearer.)

Last night it went off not once, but twice.  Ugh.  I was tired to start with because I hadn’t slept well the night before, and then I kept getting woken up.  By a loud blaring noise.  And because it was his night to be “on call,” meaning that he had to go no matter what, there was no option to just ignore it, it was lots more movement.

Pager goes off.  He gets up and hurries out of the room, slamming the door to the garage and I hear him screeching out of the driveway.  Now the dogs are awake and all riled up and they decide that 1am is a good time to start playing.  I fall halfway back asleep, only to be awoken when he comes home. 

Ah, blissful sleep for two hours.  And then that noise. Oh that noise!  Why is it making that noise again?!  Twice in one night?  Seriously? 

This time, L jumps out of bed exclaiming, Oh shit!, he was so sound asleep that he thought he slept through it the first time and it was being re-paged (not really a good thing).  Again, he hurries out the room, out of the house, out of the driveway.  Fall back asleep.  Wake up when he comes back home.

An hour goes by.  Damnit.  What is that noise?  Make it stop.  Oh crap.  It’s my alarm.

Oy.

This morning I tell him he’s going to have to make the fire department gods not set that pager off twice in one night again.  He tells me that’s nothing, they can get up at night at work 6 or 7 times.

That is exactly why HE is the firefighter and I am not.

But I guess I can see past all this since it rarely goes off more than once a night.

