So, I haven’t been writing much and I still don’t know why.  I miss you guys.  Although, I do keep up with all my reading, even if I haven’t been commenting.  Since I do most of my blogging at work (tsk, tsk, I know) and I’ve been so fed up with work lately, I just haven’t bothered.  It’s like whenever I am here, I’m miserable.

But I’m going to try to get back to doing this regularly.  For real this time.  Here’s a quick update from the last month.

  • At the beginning of the month the department that L volunteers/works part-time at had a training fire.  They burned a 30,000 square foot house that otherwise would have been torn down.  He asked me to stop by for a little while if I wanted to.  Before I got there, he called to tell me that I would have to take care of him that night because he burned his ear pretty bad.  Apparently, the fire got bigger and hotter than they had intended and they were actually fighting to save the house for awhile, rather than just doing some training exercises and controlling it as it burned to the ground like normal.  Good thing there were like 3 other departments there training as well.


Part of the house as they were letting it burn to the ground


Nasty blister from the burn – and it got even bigger than this


After it popped – ewwww – glad it’s back to normal these days!

  • After the fire we hung out with a bunch of other people at one of his friend’s houses.  We swam and ate.  It was a lot of fun.  And I’m glad that we’re actually hanging out with his friends now.  I know he says that they’re a lot older than us (most of them in their 30s with kids), but they still have a good time.  I feel a lot better these days that I’m actually meeting these people and they know who I am.  It’s not like he was hiding me from them or anything, we just never did anything socially with them.
  • We went to a Toby Keith concert with some friends.  We got there at like 4 so we could tailgate for longer and cook out.  It was a lot of fun.  Until I went crazy that night (but we’re all good now).


At the concert

  • Shep and Dixie have finally started obedience training.  They are 6 1/2 months old – can you believe it?!  They have gotten so big, but they’re probably only about half of their full-grown size.  They are getting private lessons and the trainer comes to our house.  We practice with them a lot, they’ve only had two sessions (out of 5 or 6) so far, but the trainer said they’re doing very well.  Although, he did mention that he thinks Dixie is going to be a challenge and that Shep is more submissive and already knows that we are the boss.  Haha.  I’m excited that they’re doing well and it’s even kind of fun to work with them.  Pretty soon I’ll be able to take them on walks by myself again.  Right now, they are too strong for me to take both at once on my own. 😦


They had just gotten a bath two weeks before.  Then they decided to dig a hole next to the A/C unit where it was muddy and this is what happened.  Gotta love Carolina red clay!  Shep was dirty too.  They got another bath.  Immediately.  Because I was not letting them in the house like this.


Shep

  • This past weekend was my friend, KO’s, wedding.  She looked absolutely stunning.  They had to cut some extra things out of the ceremony at the last minute because it was outside and a thunderstorm was on it’s way, but everything was beautiful and they are MARRIED!


My friend A, from California, took this picture.  I think it belongs in a bridal magazine!


We danced and had a grand ‘ol time, but there was no liquor at the open bar and no beer that the boys liked – so they spent a lot of time at the hotel bar and every now and then we would go out for a drink, to visit and to pull them in for a dance!

  • And just when I thought wedding season was over.  Tuesday I check my personal email and see that N, one of the FLAVA high school friends sent me a message on Facebook, so I went to read it.  Shadylady that she is chose Facebook to tell me that she just got ENGAGED!  Woohoo!  I’m very excited for her.  So sometime next year, we’ll have another wedding to attend.  She’s the first of my close HS friends to get married.
  • And then I get jealous because I want it to be me.  But I know it will happen, becaue L and I talk about it constantly and the only reason it hasn’t is because he needs to save his money to  buy some sparkly.  I just can’t wait to start my new life with him.
  • We don’t have any big plans for this weekend.  L is working today and Saturday.  Tomorrow is the 4th of July parade in the town we live in and he’ll likely be driving one of the fire trucks which means I will likely be riding along.  I went with him last year and had a good time.  I think I’ll enjoy it more this year that I actually know some people.  Oh and last year, the photographer snapped this totally candid shot of us.  I love it.

         After the parade, one of his friends is having people over for a BBQ, so we’ll go there.  He apparently has $600 worth of fireworks he is going to set off too.  Yikes!  Should be a festive night.

Hope everyone has a safe and Happy 4th of July!  Hopefully we’ll be back to regularly scheduled programming. 🙂

