I don’t know why I haven’t been posting as consistently as I had in the past.  I got busy at work and I guess I just fell out of the swing of things.  But, I’ve been reading your posts!

Anyway, we had a staff meeting today.  Announcing that we have the option to take part in summer hours.  Awesome.  But, it’s kind of a weird system to me.  It is the common system of working an extra hour Monday – Thursday and working a half day on Friday.

Our normal business hours are 8:30 – 5.  I can either come in Mon-Thurs from 7:30 – 5 or from 8:30 – 6 and leave at noon on Friday.  It would be from Memorial Day – Labor Day.

Here’s the catch.  My boss isn’t actually closing the office at noon on Fridays.  You have a partner.  One week your partner has summer hours (comes in early or stays late and leaves at noon on Friday) and you work normal hours (and leave at the normal 5pm on Friday) and the following week  you flip flop so you have summer hours and your partner has normal hours.

Here are my concerns/thinking:

  • First, I am not staying until 6.  I can barely make it to 5.  And yes, I realize I work at a great place where the employees actually leave at 5.
  • I don’t mind coming in at 7:30, but that means I have to leave the house at 6:45.  I don’t even get up until 7.
  • If L is working on a Friday, then I’m just going to go home and sit by myself with the dogs because all of my other friends will be at work too.
  • Why do we have to flip flop.  By the time I get into the groove of leaving the house earlier, it will be time to go back to normal.

I’m just not sure it’s worth it, but I do know how nice it would be to leave at noon every other Friday.  I’ll probably end up doing it.  I think it would be better if he just closed the entire office at 2 and we could all leave every Friday, but that’s me.

I guess I shouldn’t complain since a lot of places don’t do this and it is a pretty sweet deal.

What do you think?

 

