Actually, it’s more like wardrobe dilemma, but I like alliteration too much.  Back in October, shortly after L and I got engaged, we headed out to Wilmington, NC to look at some potential venues and check out our first bridal show.  As you know, we chose a venue that is in Winston-Salem, no where near Wilmington or any other part of the coast.  But, while we were at the bridal show, we won a free engagement session – no strings attached!  When it’s all said and done, we’ll receive the disc with edited photos and rights to print.  All for free!  How awesome is that?!

The other great part is that we can do it anywhere in the Wilmington area.  Since we were so torn between a beach wedding or not a beach wedding and subsequently ended up with the latter, we love the option of doing our engagement pictures at the beach.  It’s a nice compromise. :)  So that’s what we decided to do – and the big day is Thursday.

You know what?  I HAVE NOTHING TO WEAR!  Thus, I need your help.

We’re able to have a couple of outfit changes and I think we’re going to start the shoot out by some little beach shops and then move on to the actual beach.

L will most likely be wearing nice khaki shorts and a button down shirt in some sort of blue. 

We’re going for casual, but nice.  So I’m thinking of a cute dress and then maybe pants.  Not sure.  Here’s what I came up with after way too much shopping in my closet and at the outlets I went to today.

Shoes are a big concern.  L is taller than me, but when I put shoes on, the difference is very slight.  If he’s wearing dress shoes or winter shoes, it’s not so bad because the slight ‘man heel’ or thicker sole help, but he’ll be wearing Rainbows, so that means I can’t really wear heels.  Especially the heels that go with some of these dresses because they’re about 3.75″ high.  He says it makes him feel short when I stand next to him.  And I feel like a giant.  I just don’t want to look stumpy with flats on.  And I don’t have any heels that aren’t super high that will go with any of the dresses – and I don’t want to buy new ones.

For dresses:


For the longest time, this is the dress I was planning to wear.  I bought it last year to wear to L’s sister’s graduation and our trip to Savannah.  Then I put it on again this year and hated it.  I took the time to iron it today and try it on again and I liked it much better than the other day.  Here, I have it on with beaded green flip flops. 


Same dress with the shoes I wish I could wear.  I love the way my make my calves look better. (Please excuse Shep’s tail in the photo).  Maybe I could bring the shoes for any photos that you won’t be able to tell how tall I am.  I like when photographers cut off the couple’s head.


Then there’s this dress I bought at the end of last summer.  It’s a dark purple color and I’m wearing the same flip flops as above.  (Also, I couldn’t help the sun coming in and this is the only mirror I can take pictures in)


Again, with the amazingly lovely, tall, tall shoes.


I found this one in Target today for $20.  It’s a darker pink and has a little more red in it.  I guess I would go with the same green flip flops.

And now for the second outfit.  This is basically the same outfit with slight variations.


Navy chinos from J. Crew outlet (on sale for $39!), a very light blue tshirt with knotted front and yellow cardigan.  I think the yellow is too bright though – I thought it was more pale when I bought it.


Same, but with a white cardigan.


Same with a slightly off white ruffly cardigan.  I’m just not sure if the ruffles go with the shirt.  Do you think they compete too much with the knot?


Same, but this white cardigan fits a little smaller, which I think I like better if I’m going to keep it open.


Just so you can see what the tshirt looks like on its own.


If I wore this on the beach, I thought it would look cute to roll up the pants and walk through the water.


Here’s the ruffly cardigan with a dark pink shirt. 

So here’s my question – which dress?  Or do they all suck?  I really want to wear pink because it’s my signature color.  Seriously.   But also want to choose what looks best. And what about the pants/cardigan option?  Blue shirt underneath or pink?  White cardigan or ruffly cardigan? (I’m pretty much eliminating the yellow bc I feel like it’s too bright – unless you think it looks fabulous).  You can’t really see it in the photos, but I have pink sandals on – so I still get a hint of pink in there.  Plus, I feel like you can’t get much more beachy than navy and white.

Thoughts?

